Monday, January 7, 2008

"I can't believe it's vegan"

I found this site when I was trying to see if I could eat Pop-Tarts this morning. I didn't think I could eat the conveniently little pseudo-pastries because they contain "cracker meal." Turns out, cracker meal is simply flour and water.
The Web site lists a ton of products that are supposed to be vegan.
Breakfast just got a little easier.

-aj

5 comments:

Anonymous said...

I don't think Pop-Tarts are vegan (or even vegetarian)---they have animal-derived gelatin. Have you considered Morningstar microwaveable "sausage" patties?

Andy Johns, mobile reporter said...

Most of the Morningstar products I looked at contain egg white. This is bad news about the Pop Tarts.

Krystan said...

That website is BS. They put a lot of things on there that have animal products in them. Always read the label.

Anonymous said...

I'm pretty sure the breakfast items in morningstar's lineup are vegan. Some of their veggie burgers have egg whites, but there's at least one vegan one. I don't know where you live, but there are many cafes and punk-rock-type places (esp. in Minneapolis/Chicago/NYC) that have vegan pancakes, sausages, waffles, etc. Tofu scramble is another common option. Check out Happycow.net for options where you live.

Andy Johns, mobile reporter said...

Randolph County, Alabama is a long way from Minneapolis/Chicago/NYC.

The Pop-Tarts I have do not contain gelatin and what I have read says the unfrosted kind are vegan, but the frosted kinds are not.